Fabulous dahling, just fabulous!!!

Today I was thinking a lot about fabulousness/fabulosity/being fabulous.  I thought this might be controversial as my last post was about being happy and I can just imagine people saying “Dang first she’s talking about being happy and now she’s telling us she’s fabulous??  Who does she think she is??”  So let’s just make it clear right this minute that I don’t spend my time sitting around thinking about how fabulous I am… but what if I did?

So what do you think would happen if the next time you got dressed you decided that today was a day you were going to show the world how fabulous you are on the inside, on your outside?  What would happen if, instead of the usual boring work duds you spent extra moment thinking about your outfit and fab’d it up?  I’ll tell you a secret because I did just that this week and the result was amazing!  I’m not talking about just amazing on the outside either… it was amazing on the inside!!

I started on Monday wearing a hot outfit because I had a terrible sleep, and well hell it was Monday after all and they suck just be the mere fact they exist.  I figured that the purple boots would be the only way to drag myself out of my perpetual “I don’t like Mondays” funk.  The thing with rocking purple velvet boots is – you either have to make them the star of the outfit, or you just have to balls out with the whole outfit.  Usually I make them the star, but this week I though “WTF – why not go all balls it out?”, so I did… and it started a trend.

Tuesday I managed a somewhat Mad Men sexy secretary look with my grey Fluevog Operetta Rubinis.  Wednesday I kicked it up a notch with the big guns again (red, Fluevog, fabulous by their very nature) with a black and white houndstooth pencil skirt and a red pea coat.  Thursday I rocked a khaki leather skirt, black turtleneck and the stunning coat with black boots.  Then I couldn’t just leave out Friday so on went a sexy denim pencil skirt, white shirt, black leather vest, black boots and the stunning coat.

I feel the need to add that none of these items were new and none were any different from the previous times I wore them.  The difference was inside me.  I had made the choice to be fabulous this week and I put that on every morning before I put on the clothes.  Funny thing was, I wasn’t the only one who noticed.  I received more compliments this week from my colleagues than I have in the past 4 years – all for clothes/outfits I have worn to the office many times!

The clincher was today when I was on my way to meet an old friend for lunch.  I was walking along minding my own business when a guy I had never seen before actually stopped me on the street and told me “WOW!  You look fabulous!” (and just for the record I’m not talking about an intoxicated gentlemen looking for money – they always tell me I’m a gorgeous lady but I take that with a grain of salt considering the beer goggles and all…).  This well dressed, apparently sober dude stopped me on the street just to tell me I looked fabulous and then he moved on – no pick up line, no request for money, no apparent ulterior motive!  Seriously people you cannot BUY that kind of positive affirmation at any price!!

So what was the difference?  What was the change?  What magic that made me appear different this week from last week?  Was it just me saying to myself on Monday “This week I’m going to be fabulous?”?  Could it really be that easy??

If it is that simple, what would happen if we actually allowed ourselves to be fabulous and bask in the praise we receive for some of the other things in life such as work, raising children, personal accomplishments, whatever?  Instead of being modest and saying “Oh you’re too kind” or “it wasn’t much” or whatever diminishing phrase we insert – what if the next time someone says “Wow!” to something we smile, say “Thank you!”, embrace it and then say to ourselves “Damn rights I’m fabulous – and it shows!”??  Could we handle the magic we might unleash??

Why not try it???

One response to “Fabulous dahling, just fabulous!!!

  1. Living it – loving it!!!
    You are fabulous – and people notice!!
    FAB post, FAB boots and FAB guy on the street for noticing!!

Leave a comment