Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes!

I started writing this blog to talk about my footwear, and potentially about some of the things I was wearing – but to be truthful the concept really never spoke to me.  I tried to keep on top of posting, but in reality I had nothing to say.  I never felt good about talking about my shoes when there are so many other more important things in the world to talk about.

I have been an avid reader of lifestyle, style and health blogs but I was never sold on the crazy consumerism these blogs supported.  I am still in awe of some of the budgets people have for their clothing and how much they purchase – regardless if it is second hand or designer.  One woman posted what she had purchased since September and it was more than I had bought in the two previous years, and everything was designer so it was thousands of dollars worth of clothing!  She was purporting the concept of a “minimalist wardrobe” but was completely entrenched in the idea that she just had to buy the right items to make her happy with what she had.  This struck me as counterintuitive – that one must keep buying to become a minimalist…

So I was at a crossroads.  I really wanted to blog, but I needed to find something that really spoke to me.  I am not sure but I think I have finally found something I want to support.  I have been doing a lot of reading about minimalism and finding ways to being happy and content with less.  Truth is my stuff, my things, my more appropriately named baggage drove me crazy.  It was too much.  It was an exercise in finding storage in the house, shifting stuff when I was trying to find something important, ending up with mounds of laundry because I just had so many sheets and towels. Arg! It made me want to pull my hair out!!

I came across this book by Marie Kondo called The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing – she’s a bit crazy-pants but it was the first book that really spoke to my heart.  So I went a little crazy – I started one Sunday morning and I went so nuts that I requested a holiday day for the Monday and just kept on going.  Everything was moved, organized, washed and donated.  I’ve been going for about a month now and I’m making some big headway.  Don’t get me wrong – my house didn’t look like an episode of Hoarders or anything like that.  There was just too much.  Too much of everything.  Like I was stockpiling for a zombie apocalypse or doomsday prepping.  I was clearly a “just in case” woman.  No one needs that much.  Seriously.

Seeing as I have no following and no one reads this but me, I decided to change the theme and change the name of the blog.  I am now a “recovering” shoeoholic – I’m selling my Fluevogs to prove it!  I will never have the bare house of a true minimalist because I like comfort and I love art and plants and pets, but I invite you to accompany me in my recovery.  I am on a journey to less and I can use all of the support and encouragement I can get!

Leave a Reply

