Welcome to 2015!! Achoo!!

So I had a lovely long staycation of 12.5 days over the holidays where my intent was to purge and clean and paint the entire house.  A fabulous idea in premise but what actually happened was a flu, then a cold, with a few days of painting in between and not much organizing at all.  Boo.  Ah well as my sister said on the phone yesterday it’s not like I have a deadline so the work will resume once this horrendous cold is gone.

I painted the living room and dining room a lovely light grey Sherwin-Williams Grayish (http://www.sherwin-williams.com/homeowners/color/find-and-explore-colors/paint-colors-by-family/SW6001-grayish/) with the hall and kitchen two shades darker in Sherwin-Williams Proper Gray (http://www.sherwin-williams.com/homeowners/color/find-and-explore-colors/paint-colors-by-family/SW6003-proper-gray/).

It’s a very blue-grey so very different from the khaki I had before.  Seems to bring out the gold of the floor more but I still don’t love the red leather sectional with it.  I painted my bedroom Sherwin-Williams Spa (http://www.sherwin-williams.com/homeowners/color/find-and-explore-colors/paint-colors-by-family/SW6765-spa/) which is a bright aqua and so far it makes me irrationally happy to wake up surrounded by this colour.  Not so happy to be stuck in here sick and with newspaper on the window because I haven’t had the energy to drag in the ladder and put the curtain rod up, but it will have to do for now.  Big plans waylaid by little germs as always!

I also painted two items of furniture – one a sideboard of sorts and another an upholstered chair – before and after photos to follow in another post.

I’ve continued my reading on minimalism and I will be trying some strategies to reduce some of the stuff I have.  One is to move all of my clothes onto a rolling garment rail in the spare room and then only return them to my closet once I have worn them.  If they aren’t worn during the season then out they go!  I have also been working on weeding out some of my more “interesting” lounge-wear – a.k.a. ratty pajamas.  I’m sure my neighbours and the mail person would super appreciate me not being outside or answering the door in the majority of my “lounging” outfits.

I think the best thing I can do to start off the new year is to count everything I have and divide it into categories.  I know I have too much but too much of what is my question.  I’ll start that way – out myself for all to see and then I’ll go from there.

Leave a Reply

