The Habit of Writing… the Writing of Habits…

So since Jan 1, 2015 I have been religiously writing in my journal every night before bed.  My goal was to create a habit of daily writing which has been very successful in my journal, but completely unsuccessful in my blog.  Boo.  Time to change this!

Since December 2014 I have been on a mission to purge my entire life.  I became a bit insane after reading Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up and I’ve been a purging machine.  I’ve actually read the book now 3 times and it continues to inspire me each time I read it!  So to update I have purged and donated approximately 20 full garbage bags of useable items – clothing, bedding, etc. and a whole bunch of boxes of dishes, knick-knacks, and general household stuff.  I organized the basement, assembled some storage wardrobes and have pretty much wrestled the clutter into submission.  I’m still working on the spare room/office/sewing room.  I still have too many books and “things” stuffed into the closet and bookshelves, but I lack the energy/desire to make more purging decisions for the time being.

I’m still contemplating what art to put back up on the walls and where.  In the meantime I’m kind of enjoying the house looking fairly sparse.  I still have areas of clutter (hello vanity table by the front door I’m talking to you) but I now know what my triggers are (bedding, scarves, spring/fall jackets and coats, mugs – ugh!) so I am working to minimize these and not buy anything new in these categories.  Seriously for a person with one bed, one neck, minimal need for multiple mugs in a province where spring/fall lasts for a total of about 10 days I have no need for so many multiples in these areas.

I’m also trying to simplify my facial cleansing/make-up routine.  After a brutal battle trying multiple brands at the dermatologist a colleague recommended the Paula’s Choice brand.  I ordered their Skin Recovery Kit and I absolutely LOVE it! No irritation, no break-outs, nothing but improved skin tone.  They definitely have a customer for life with these great products.  The need for make-up has been greatly reduced by the improvement in my skin.  I’m just using Nars blush in Orgasm, Benefit Roller Lash mascara and L’Oreal Infallible lippy in Timeless Rose (this stuff’s the bomb – stays on all day!) most days which is quick and easy-peasy in the morning before work.  I’ve recently added this L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadow in Amber Rush on the recommendation of a friend who has a beauty blog and I’m feeling pretty damn fancy – me and my glittery lids! Woot!

That’s about it for now – here’s a gratuitous happy dog photo until next time…

Ice cream!!! Happy Spring!!

Ice cream!!! Happy Spring!!

Leave a Reply

